Wednesday, 5 February 2014

***NEW RELEASE*** Otis Redding - The King Of Soul (04/02/2014)


This new set features 92 songs and retraces the singer’s career from his meteoric rise to his untimely death in a 1967 plane crash

This new set features 92 songs and retraces the singer’s career from his meteoric rise to his untimely death in a 1967 plane crash.

The songs reveal the breadth of Redding’s talent, starting with his gift for songwriting: “I Can’t Turn You Loose,” “Ole Man Trouble” and “(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay,” his posthumous #1 hit.

His reputation as a magnetic and dynamic performer is well served by a selection of live performances recorded in 1966 at the Whisky a Go Go in L.A. (“These Arms of Mine” and “Papa’s Got a Brand New Bag”) and in 1967 during the legendary Stax/Volt Revue tour of Europe (“Shake” and “Try a Little Tenderness.”)

Redding was also an expert interpreter of other artist’s work, putting his distinct twist on everything from Solomon Burke’s “Down in the Valley” and William Bell’s “You Don’t Miss Your Water,” to the Stones’ “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” and Smokey Robinson’s “My Girl.”

'The King Of Soul' also spotlights his unforgettable collaborations with singer Carla Thomas like “Lovey Dovey” and “Tramp.”

Tracklist: The King Of Soul (2014)

Disc One

1. “These Arms Of Mine”
2. “Hey Hey Baby”
3. “That’s What My Heart Needs”
4. “Mary’s Little Lamb”
5. “Pain In My Heart”
6. “Something Is Worrying Me”
7. “Come To Me”
8. “Don’t Leave Me This Way”
9. “Security”
10. “Chained And Bound”
11. “Your One And Only Man”
12. “That’s How Strong My Love Is”
13. “Mr. Pitiful”
14. “A Woman, A Lover, A Friend”
15. “Nothing Can Change This Love”
16. “It’s Too Late”
17. “For Your Precious Love”
18. “Home In Your Heart”
19. “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long” (Mono Version)
20. “I’m Depending On You”
21. “Respect” (Mono Version)
22. “Ole Man Trouble” (Mono Version)
23. “Change Gonna Come”

Disc Two

1. “Shake”
2. “Satisfaction”
3. “Down In The Valley”
4. “My Girl”
5. “Rock Me Baby”
6. “You Don’t Miss Your Water”
7. “I Can’t Turn You Loose”
8. “Just One More Day”
9. “Any Ole Way”
10. “It’s Growing”
11. “Cigarettes And Coffee”
12. “Chain Gang”
13. “Nobody Knows You (When You’re Down And Out)”
14. “Good To Me”
15. “Everybody Makes A Mistake”
16. “Just One More Day” (Live, 1966)
17. “Mr. Pitiful” (Live, 1966)
18. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” (Live, 1966)
19. “These Arms Of Mine” (Live, 1966)
20. “Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag” (Live, 1966)
21. “Don’t Mess With Cupid”
22. “My Lover’s Prayer”

Disc Three

1. “Try A Little Tenderness”
2. “Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)”
3. “I’m Sick Y’all”
4. “Tennessee Waltz”
5. “Sweet Lorene”
6. “Day Tripper”
7. “You’re Still My Baby”
8. “Hawg For You” (Mono Version)
9. “I Love You More Than Words Can Say”
10. “Let Me Come On Home”
11. “Open The Door”
12. “Tramp”
13. “Knock On Wood”
14. “Let Me Be Good To You”
15. “Lovey Dovey”
16. “New Year’s Resolution”
17. “Ooh Carla, Ooh Otis”
18. “White Christmas”
19. “Merry Christmas Baby”
20. “The Glory Of Love”
21. “The Huckle-Buck”
22. “Tell The Truth”

Disc Four

1. “Respect’ (Live, 1967)
2. “Can’t Turn You Loose” (Live, 1967)
3. “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long” (Live, 1967)
4. “My Girl” (Live, 1967)
5. “Shake” (Live, 1967) (Stereo Mix Of Single Version)
6. “Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)” (Live, 1967)
7. “Try A Little Tenderness” (Live, 1967)
8. “I’ve Got Dreams To Remember”
9. “Nobody’s Fault But Mine”
10. “Hard To Handle”
11. “Thousand Miles Away”
12. “The Happy Song (Dum-Dum)”
13. “A Waste Of Time”
14. “Champagne And Wine”
15. “A Fool For You”
16. “I’m A Changed Man”
17. “Direct Me”
18. “Love Man”
19. “Look At The Girl”
20. “Free Me”
21. “The Match Game”
22. “A Little Time”
23. “Johnny’s Heartbreak”
24. “Amen”
25. “(Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay”

No comments:

Post a Comment